JOB OPPORTUNITIES

RA for your Friday

We had a bit of a late start, but the snow has finally arrived, giving us every reason to stay in and read. Let’s see what’s happening in booktown!

The February picks for Library Reads and IndieNext are out – go ahead and print ’em out for yer corkboard.

In book club news, PBS has launched the PBS Books Readers Club series! From the website: “Each month, we will select fascinating reads that pair perfectly with the themes viewers love to watch on PBS…” January’s pick is Horse, by Geraldine Brooks. This one will be great to keep tabs on, not only for the monthly selections, but also for the additional content, like this collaboration with Booklist Reader about What to Read in 2024.

In related news, Publishers Weekly has rounded up some January book club selections, from Reese to Jenna and beyond.

And speaking of book clubs, NCLS is about to select the next batch of Book Club in a Bag titles, which will land in early March. Please let me know by the end of January if you have any requests!

In awards news, the Edgar nominations have been announced.

If you’ve got patrons waiting for high-demand holds, why not a display of readalikes? Library Journal has readalikes for The Heiress and The Fury.

Finally, #FridayReads: Fact: I regularly visit libraries. Fact: It’s rare for me to leave a library empty-handed. Fact: I’m a slow reader. Result: The sad truth is that I borrow far more than I can ever start, let alone finish. Did this stop me from checking out (the frankly much-thicker-than-I-was expecting) The Frozen River? No, it sure didn’t, and I’m glad, because this is turning into one of my favorite reads in a long time. (Hat tip to Shiloah at LOW for putting this into my literal hands.) In my proverbial earbuds is a rare (for me) fiction pick, The Expectant Detectives, which I’ve been enjoying whilst working on a sewing project. Happy reading/listening!